Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Bruria Affair: The Truth Behind the Infamous Talmudic Incident

Thursday, July 14 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 10:00 am on Thursday, repeating until Thursday, July 28, 2022

Free

4-Part Thursday Series, July 7, 14, 21 & 28
10:00 – 11:00 AM PST/1:00 – 2:00 PM EST (Noon – 1:00 PM CST)
20:00 – 21:00 Israel Time

She is the poster woman for Jewish feminism and women’s Torah study. Schools have been named for her, responsa written against her. She’s been hailed as a heroine and denounced as an adulteress, held up as exemplar and as cautionary tale. But who was she, Bruria the Tannaite, the only female sage of the Talmud? How do we come to have such conflicting accounts of her? And why does her story end so tragically? Join us as we explore the truth behind the Bruria affair, through the Tosefta and Talmud, Greek tragedy and medieval commentary, Homer and Shakespeare and Virginia Woolf.

Gila Fine is a teacher of Aggada at the Pardes Institute of Jewish Studies, exploring the tales of the Talmud through philosophy, literary criticism, psychoanalysis, and pop-culture. She is also a faculty member of the London School of Jewish studies, the Nachshon Project, and Amudim Seminary, and has taught thousands of students at conferences and communities across the Jewish world. Gila’s dynamic literary method and unique intertextual approach – ranging from folktales to fiction to film – bring the stories of the Talmud to life, revealing their relevance for our time. Haaretz has called her “a young woman on her way to becoming one of the more outstanding Jewish thinkers of the next generation.”

CSP Partners: Beth Israel (San Diego, CA), Brotherhood Synagogue (Gramercy Park, NYC), Congregation Beth Shalom (Seattle, WA), Congregation B’nai Tzedek (Fountain Valley, CA), Congregation B’nai Israel (Tustin, CA), Jewish Collaborative of Orange County, CA, Shomrei Torah Synagogue (San Fernando Valley, CA), Temple Bat Yahm (Newport Beach, CA), Temple Beth El of South Orange County (Aliso Viejo, CA), Temple Beth Emet (Anaheim, CA), Temple Beth Ohr (La Mirada, CA), Temple Beth Tikvah (Fullerton, CA), Temple Beth Shalom (Needham, MA), Temple Beth Sholom (Santa Ana, CA), Temple Emanuel (Newton, MA), Town & Village Synagogue (NYC, NY), University Synagogue (Irvine, CA), Valley Beth Shalom (Encino, CA) & Walnut Street Synagogue (Chelsea, MA)

Details

Date:
Thursday, July 14
Time:
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEtfuurpj4oH9TKukX75JSyMXFY_YF-mh_y

Venue

Zoom
CA United States

Organizer

Adult Education